Customize the workbench

Customizing the Workbench

The Phaedra workbench is a flexible window, allowing you to change many aspects of its presentation. While using the application, you will find that many views can be configured in great detail. To avoid having to perform this configuration again and again, Phaedra offers several tools to save this information, so that you can continue working with the same views in different sessions, even on different computers.

There are two aspects of the workbench that can be saved and restored in later sessions:

  • The position of views: this information is saved automatically on the computer when you exit Phaedra, and will be restored the next time you start Phaedra.
  • The state of views: this includes any configuration that you performed in the view, for example the axis and legend settings of a chart view, or the layer settings on a heatmap view. This information is not saved automatically, but you can save it manually into a saved view. Once created, a saved view is available at any time, on any computer.

Both of the above can be combined in a single, powerful concept called perspectives. When you open a perspective, it will bring the workbench in the exact state it was in when you saved the perspective.

Exiting and Restarting

When you exit the application, the position of open views will be remembered the next time you start Phaedra.

If you do not want this, click on Window > Reset Perspective. The workbench will return to its original, blank state.

Saved Views

Most views in Phaedra support the notion of saved views. You can quickly see this by the presence of the saved view icon in the view's toolbar.


When you click on the icon, a menu will appear allowing you to save and load views. To save a view, select Save as new view and enter a unique name for the saved view.

From now on, that saved view will be available to you on any computer you use. Open the view, click on the saved view button and select Show available views to see a list of saved views that are available to you.


When you select one of the saved views, the view will immediately return to the state it was saved in.

Note: The content of most views depends on what you select in another view. For example, the Quick Heatmap view displays the plate that is currently selected in a plate list. This information is called the view input, and is not part of the state that is stored in a saved view. The information that is stored in a saved view is not the input itself, but rather the presentation of the input. Returning to the Quick Heatmap example, a saved Quick Heatmap will include the configuration of the labels, the overlays, status symbols, etc.

Note: Because saved views often contain protocol-specific information (for example, the axis features on a chart), the list of saved views that is available to you is also limited to the currently selected protocol. For example, if you are browsing plates of Protocol A and you open a 2D scatter plot, you will only see saved views for Protocol A.


If you have composed a workbench with many views and spent time configuring each view to a specific state, you can save all this information in a single 'snapshot', called a perspective. This is most useful if you plan on reusing the same workbench layout later, over multiple sessions.

To create a perspective, right-click on the item PSP Perspectives in the Navigator view, and select Save As New.... You will be prompted to enter a unique name for the new perspective.


Once the perspective has been saved, it will be available at any time, on any computer. To open it, double-click on PSP Perspectives > My Perspectives in the Navigator view. Right-click on the perspective you want to restore and select Open.


By default, the perspective will be private, meaning only you can see and open it. To share a perspective with other users, right-click on it and select Settings. In the settings dialog, you can change the name of the perspective, and the access level.


If you want to modify a perspective, follow these steps:

  1. Open the perspective
  2. Make any changes you like to the workbench and the views
  3. Right-click on the perspective and select Update

Note: Not all views in Phaedra can be saved. If you include such a view in a perspective, it will be restored into a default state when you load the perspective.